The Hobart welding school was started in 1930 as a department of the Hobart Brothers Company. In 1940, the school was granted a charter by the State of Ohio as a 501(c)3 nonprofit corporation governed by a board of directors and became known as the Hobart Trade School. As welding became more popular, the demand for trained welders increased and larger school facilities were required. In 1940, a new all-welded steel building was designed and built to house the welding school operation. Hobart Institute trained thousands of welders for World War II production in 1942-45.
The success of the welding training programs and the acceleration and growth of welding justified the construction of larger training facilities. In 1958, the present Hobart Technical Center, which houses the school, was completed. Ohio State Board of Career Colleges and Schools approval was received in 1970. In December of that year, the name was changed to Hobart School of Welding Technology. In 1972, The National Association of Trade & Technical Schools granted accreditation to Hobart Institute. The school became a supporting member of the American Welding Society in 1977. The demand for trained welders continued to increase and larger facilities were required. Remodeling and expansion took place in 1978.
In September of 1991 the name was changed to Hobart Institute of Welding Technology. Renovation that began in 2005 and is continuing brings the Hobart Institute into the 21st century with enhanced technology and state-of-the art facilities.
The addition of the Hobart Gallery of Welding History in 2010 provides students and visitors an opportunity to explore the foundation that sets the stage for the present.
Over 100,000 people have successfully completed Hobart Institute of Welding Technology courses. We have trained students both male and female from all over the world ranging from the individual student directly out of high school to employees of Fortune 500 companies.